This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Honorary Fellows

Through the award of Honorary Fellow (HonFSE), the Society for the Environment recognises exceptional contributions made to protect and enhance our environment and to the Society itself.

Collectively our Honorary Fellows represent a breadth of sectors, and are all eminent and respected in their own right. Together they have a powerful voice and there is significant opportunity for influencing together on policy at the highest levels.

To become an HonFSE, individuals are nominated by one of our Licensed Bodies. These nominations are judged by our Honorary Fellows Panel in order to make a decision. If you would like to nominate someone for an HonFSE, please either email or contact one of our Licensed Bodies. 

All information is kept in line with our Privacy Policy.


Honorary Fellows for the Society:

Correct as of August 2019


Peter Ainsworth (2013)

Neil Atkinson (2010)

Professor Adisa Azapagic (2012)

Professor Sir John Beddington (2010)

Mark Bedford CEnv (2008)

Professor Tim Benton (2016)

Tim Bines (2006)

Jennifer Blumhof CEnv (2019)

Tim Boldero CEnv (2008)

John Brady (2008)

Angela Brady OBE (2014)

Baroness Brown of Cambridge (Dame Juila King) (2011)

Dame Yve Buckland DBE (2015)

Tom Burke (2011)

Pamela Castle OBE (2013)

Colin Challen (2009)

The Rt Rev & Rt Hon Richard Chartres Bishop of London (2013)

Professor Raymond Clark OBE CEnv (2014)

Keith Clarke CBE (2013)

Professor Joseph Clarke CEnv (2011)

Lynn Cooper CEnv (2008)

Jonathan Dimbleby (2016)

Caroline Drummond MBE CEnv (2014)

Colin Drummond OBE (2013)

John Edmonds OBE (2006)

Dr Nick Eyre (2011)

Dr Mark Fletcher (2018)

Russell Foster (2008)

Dr Robert Fuller CEnv (2006)

Alex Galloway CVO (2004)

Mark Gibson CEnv (2008)

Dr Liz Goodwin OBE (2013)

John Gregory (2008) d. 2016

Adam Guy (2004)

John Harman (2004)

Peter Head CBE (2013)

The Right Honourable the Lord Heseltine CH PC (2013)

Polly Higgins (2014) d. 2019

Susan Illman (2013)

Bishop James Jones (2013)

Dr Tony Juniper CBE CEnv (2013)

Dr Alan Knight (2013)

Keith Lawry (2019)

Professor Sir John Lawton CBE (2013)

Dr Jeremy Leggett (2011)

Professor Paul Leinster CBE CEnv (2018)

David Lloyd-Roach (2010)

Richard Long CBE (2013)

Professor James Longhurst CEnv (2017)

Dr Caroline Lucas MP (2013)

Dr Stephen Martin CEnv (2008)

Dr Peter Matthews CBE OBE CEnv (2008)

George Monbiot (2016) 

Sara Parkin OBE (2006)

Tony Plytas (2011)

Professor Will Pope CEnv (2008)

Jonathon Porritt CBE (2009)

Jon Prichard (2008)

The Right Honourable Nick Raynsford MP (2013)

Peter Redman CEnv (2008)

Nick Reeves (2008) d. 2013

Dr Emyr Roberts (2018)

Simon Roberts (2011)

Peter Simpson CEnv (2016) 

Professor Jim Skea CBE (2011)

Sir Tim Smit KBE (2013)

The Right Honourable the Lord Chris Smith of Finsbury (2016)

Alex Tait CEnv (2007)

Jim Thompson CEnv (2008)

Sir Crispin Tickell (2013)

Alan Titchmarsh MBE (2014)

Professor Jean Venables CBE CEnv (2008)

His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales (2008)

Robin Welcomme CEnv (2008)

Chris Whetnall CEnv (2008)

The Right Honourable the Lord Whitty PC (2013)

Judy Ling Wong CBE (2014)

Sir Graham Wynne (2019)

Professional bodies licensed to award the Chartered Environmentalist registration:

Society for the Environment
Davis Building, 189 Railway Terrace, 
Rugby, UK, CV21 3HQ.
© Copyright 2020 Society for the Environment. All rights reserved.

Privacy Statement