Skip navigation

Honorary Fellows of the Society for the Environment (HonFSE)

Honorary Fellows

Awards are made in respect of the personal achievements of individuals nominated by a Member Body of the Society.

The nominating Member Body must satisfy itself, by consideration of evidence, that any nominated individual fulfils one or more of the criteria set out below:

1. A publicly recognised champion of the environment.
2. Any person who has given outstanding service to environmental sustainability.
3. Any person who has given outstanding service to the Society.

If you have any suggestions for a potential nomination, please speak to an affiliated Member Body.

Awarded Honorary Fellows

Correct as of June 2022:


Peter Ainsworth (2013) d. 2021

Neil Atkinson (2010)

Professor Adisa Azapagic (2012)

Professor Ian Barker CEnv (2021)

Professor Sir John Beddington (2010)

Mark Bedford CEnv (2008)

Professor Tim Benton (2016)

Tim Bines (2006)

Jennifer Blumhof CEnv (2019)

Tim Boldero CEnv (2008)

John Brady (2008)

Angela Brady OBE (2014)

Baroness Brown of Cambridge (Dame Juila King) (2011)

Dame Yve Buckland DBE (2015)

Tom Burke (2011)

Pamela Castle OBE (2013)

Colin Challen (2009)

The Rt Rev & Rt Hon Richard Chartres Bishop of London (2013)

Professor Raymond Clark OBE CEnv (2014)

Keith Clarke CBE (2013)

Professor Joseph Clarke CEnv (2011)

Lynn Cooper CEnv (2008)

Jonathan Dimbleby (2016)

Caroline Drummond MBE CEnv (2014) d. 2022

Colin Drummond OBE (2013)

John Edmonds OBE (2006)

Dr Nick Eyre (2011)

Dr Mark Fletcher (2018)

Russell Foster (2008)

Dr Robert Fuller CEnv (2006) d. 2020

Alex Galloway CVO (2004)

Kerry Geldart (2017)

Mark Gibson CEnv (2008)

Dr Liz Goodwin OBE (2013)

John Gregory (2008) d. 2016

Adam Guy (2004)

John Harman (2004)

Peter Head CBE (2013)

The Right Honourable the Lord Heseltine CH PC (2013)

Polly Higgins (2014) d. 2019

Susan Illman (2013)

Bishop James Jones (2013)

Dr Tony Juniper CBE CEnv (2013)

Dr Alan Knight (2013)

Keith Lawry (2019)

Professor Sir John Lawton CBE (2013)

Dr Jeremy Leggett (2011)

Professor Paul Leinster CBE CEnv (2018)

David Lloyd-Roach (2010)

Richard Long CBE (2013)

Professor James Longhurst CEnv (2017)

Dr Caroline Lucas MP (2013)

Dr Stephen Martin CEnv (2008)

Dr Peter Matthews CBE OBE CEnv (2008)

George Monbiot (2016)

Sara Parkin OBE (2006)

Tony Plytas (2011)

Professor Will Pope CEnv (2008)

Jonathon Porritt CBE (2009)

Jon Prichard (2008)

The Right Honourable Nick Raynsford MP (2013)

Peter Redman CEnv (2008)

Nick Reeves (2008) d. 2013

Dr Emyr Roberts (2018)

Simon Roberts (2011)

Peter Simpson CEnv (2016)

Professor Jim Skea CBE (2011)

Rachel Skinner (2021)

Sir Tim Smit KBE (2013)

The Right Honourable the Lord Chris Smith of Finsbury (2016)

Alex Tait CEnv (2007)

Jim Thompson CEnv (2008)

Sir Crispin Tickell (2013)

Alan Titchmarsh MBE (2014)

Professor Jean Venables CBE CEnv (2008)

Dale Vince OBE (2022)

Robin Welcomme CEnv (2008)

Chris Whetnall CEnv (2008)

The Right Honourable the Lord Whitty PC (2013)

His Majesty King Charles III (2008)

Judy Ling Wong CBE (2014)

Sir Graham Wynne (2019)