Skip navigation

Discover the Winners of 2020 SocEnv Awards

Annual awards showcasing the achievements of environmental professionals continue with virtual announcement event. The 2020 Environmental Professional of the Year award is presented to two environmental professionals as joint winners for the first time and a Chartered Environmentalist becomes the first Registrant Newcomer of the Year winner.

Annually the Society for the Environment (SocEnv) Awards showcase the outstanding work of Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv) and Registered Environmental Technician (REnvTech) registrants, as part of the Society’s World Environment Day celebrations. The awards announcement took place on World Environment Day – 5th June 2020 – via an online platform.

The awards showcase the achievements of those striving to protect and enhance the environment on a daily basis and attracts a diverse range of outstanding nominations each year from across sectors and continents. Highly knowledgeable professionals are required to tackle the environmental challenges we face, provide fact-based leadership and to act as role models for aspiring environmental professionals and the wider public. For this reason, we want to champion those going above and beyond!

After much deliberation within the judging panel, the 2020 Environmental Professional of the Year award was presented to two registrants for the first time in the history of the award, with two further nominees announced as Highly Commended Finalists.


2020 Environmental Professional of the Year Winners

Mandhy Senewiratne CEnv
Director at Fyrefly Global Sustainability Ltd
Registered via the Institute of Water

David Symons CEnv
UK Director of Sustainability at WSP
Registered via IEMA


Highly Commended Finalists

Prof. Daniel B. Oerther CEnv
Professor of Environmental Health Engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology
Registered via the Society of Operations Engineers

Claire Wansbury CEnv
Associate Director of Ecology at Atkins
Registered via CIEEM


Another first for the SocEnv Awards was the introduction of the Registrant Newcomer of the Year award – designed to highlight individuals who have really hit the ground running having recently achieved their CEnv or REnvTech registrations (since 1st January 2019 in this instance).


2020 Registrant Newcomer of the Year Winner

Chris Landsburgh CEnv
Environmental & Sustainability Manager, Wills Bros Civil Engineering Ltd
Registered via IEMA


Highly Commended Finalist

James Hicks CEnv
Senior Ecologist, Atkins
Registered via CIEEM


The Society would like to pass on huge congratulations to the winners, highly commended finalists and the finalists as a whole. Plus, a thank you to all those who attended the virtual awards event in support of the achievements of each finalists.

The virtual event attracted 100 attendees, included an inspirational Q&A with all of the winners (recordings released soon) and sparked a continuous flurry of excitement on the live event chat. The announcements were made by Chair of the Society, Prof. William Pope HonFSE CEnv, with the welcome coming from Chief Executive of the Society, Dr Emma Wilcox.


Winner Spotlights

Each of the winners are very deserving of these two prestigious environmental awards. But, who are they? What do they do? Why did they win? How did they react to the news? Time to find out by clicking or tapping the relevant name:

Winner Spotlight: Chris Landsburgh CEnv, 2020 Registrant Newcomer of the Year

Winner Spotlight: Mandhy Senewiratne CEnv, 2020 Environmental Professional of the Year

Winner Spotlight: David Symons CEnv, 2020 Environmental Professional of the Year


More from the 2020 SocEnv Awards

For more information about the goings on at the 2020 SocEnv Awards, including the judges comments, click here.