This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Environmental Professional of the Year 2018


Graham Powell CEnv
CHP Manager, Anglian Water


James Peacock CEnv
Product Manager at EnTrade


Highly Commended Finalists

Dave Hampton CEnv
Founder and CEO at Carbon Coach Ltd 

Gemma Williams REnvTech
Catchment Risk Coordinator at Dwr Cymru Welsh Water 

Mark Gallagher CEnv
Environmental Advisor at Mars Wrigley Confectionary UK Ltd 

The prestigious Environmental Professional of the Year award celebrates an individual’s exceptional commitment or major achievement where their professional practice has made a real difference to protecting, preserving or enhancing the environment and advancing the principles of sustainability. 

The Environmental Professional of the Year award can be won by either a Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv) or Registered Environmental Technician (REnvTech) from any sector or discipline. We welcome you to nominate your colleagues, peers, inspirations or even yourself!

All nominees will be reviewed by the Society's Honorary Fellows Panel; the committee responsible for awarding the title Honorary Fellow of the Society for the Environment (HonFSE) to those who demonstrate an exceptional contribution to protect and enhance our environment. 

The 2017 winner of the award was Dr Phillippa Pearson MIWater CEnv, Catchment Manager at Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water. Phillippa describes the award as "a wonderful personal recognition" and "extremely important to me and my team". 

 Read more about Phillippa's reaction one year on from receiving her award here.

Prior to 2017, our Chartered Environmentalist of the Year award has been presented to David Stubbs (CIEEM, 2013), Professor Martin Bigg (IEMA, 2014) and Dr Lucinda Gilfoyle (IWater, 2015).

Professional bodies licensed to award the Chartered Environmentalist registration:

Society for the Environment
Davis Building, 189 Railway Terrace, 
Rugby, UK, CV21 3HQ.
© Copyright 2020 Society for the Environment. All rights reserved.

Privacy Statement