This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: SocEnv News

The Society for the Environment Elects New Chair

17 July 2017   (0 Comments)

At the recent Society for the Environment AGM, the Council unanimously elected Professor Will Pope HonFSE CEnv as Chair of the Society for his second spell in the position. 

The Society is delighted to elect Will as Chair, and are very much looking forward to continuing with, and developing upon, the progress made over recent years. The Society and its registrants have increasingly key roles to play now, and in future years, as the environment and sustainability come to the forefront of decision making processes across sectors.

The Society is enthusiastic in its aims to further increase the voice and status of Chartered Environmentalists and Registered Environmental Technicians, as well as the Society as a whole for the public benefit.

Will replaces Dr Peter Matthews CBE OBE HonFSE CEnv who completes his second term as Chair of the Society, which spanned between July 2015 and July 2017. Peter is continuing his involvement with the Society through his election as Chair of the Remuneration Committee. 

Image: Professor Will Pope HonFSE CEnv at the recent Society for the Environment AGM.

Alongside Peter, Will was a member of the initial, ambitious group who formed the Society for the Environment in 1999. Since then, he has held a number of key roles in the Society including Chair, Chair of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Honorary Fellows Panel and Audit and Risk Assurance Committee. 

Will has a wealth of experience, leadership and expertise gained from senior roles within industry, the NHS and academia, including at chairman and chief executive level. He was CEO of the UK’s largest integrated health, safety and environmental business for 10 years and has been one of the UK’s leaders in managing and developing environmental technology companies over the last 35 years. In addition, he has been a Council member and Chair of a Licensed Body of the Society, the Institution of Environmental Sciences (IES), and was elected as a Vice President of IES in 2005. 

CEO of the Society for the Environment, Dr Emma Wilcox, commented; “I look forward to working with our new Chair and drawing from his knowledge and experience to achieve further progression for the Society and develop opportunities for our registrants.”

Committee Chairs also elected or re-elected at the AGM included:

  • Dougal Driver CEnv – Vice Chair
  • Martin Baxter CEnv – Chair of Registration Authority
  • Dr Peter Matthews CBE HonFSE CEnv – Chair of Remuneration Committee
  • Vacant – Audit and Risk Assurance Committee
  • Professor Carolyn Roberts CEnv – Chair of Honorary Fellow Panel
  • Alan Harper CEnv – Honorary Secretary
  • Ian Byrne CEnv – Honorary Treasurer

Professional bodies licensed to award the Chartered Environmentalist registration:

Society for the Environment
EC1.1 Enterprise Centre, Puma Way 
Coventry, West Midlands CV1 2TT.
© Copyright 2020 Society for the Environment. All rights reserved.

Privacy Statement